Minneopa Cemetery

Historic Minneopa Cemetery

Since 1855

Oldest Continuously Operating Cemetery in Blue Earth County

Board Minutes for September 29th, 2009

The meeting was held at U.S. Bank Conference Room.

Vice President John Croswell called the meeting to order. All were present except Stan Edwards and John Peterson.

The minutes were read by Sally Peterson and approved as read. Treasurer Dean Otto gave the treasurers report and it was approved as read.


We discussed installing an information board at the cemetery for visitors. John Croswell volunteered to check into this and also check on cost.

Landscaping, mowing and brush removal on the east side north road has not been done yet. John Croswell will check on this.

Planters that were planted by the Croswells in the spring had someone add artificial flowers as well that disturbed the natural flowers. John and Kathy will plant again next year and the cemetery will pay for the plants. Thank you John and Kathy you did a good job. Thanks.


A motion was made, seconded and carried to pay Ruth Otto $300.00 for the work she has done with cemetery records.

We discussed some problems with digging of cremation graves. John Croswell said we should have at least 12 inches of dirt on top of the grave. We need to ask for urn size so we know how large to dig the space. If it is extra big we will have to adjust our price accordingly.

Sally Peterson told the board that the member's terms that were over were Ruth Otto, Gordon Herbst, Florian Seppmann and Dough Johnson. Florian said he does not want to be on the board any longer. The others are willing to serve another three year term. We will have our election of board members and officers at the afternoon meeting.

A motion was made, seconded and carried to adjourn and reconvene at 2:00 pm in the cemetery.

Reconvened Meeting

The board meeting reconvened at 2:00 pm at the cemetery. The meeting was called to order by John Croswell. All were present except Stan Edwards and Ruth Otto.

All board members were re-elected with one exception. Florian Seppman had withdrawn his name from the board.

We talked about tree removal and road problems, these will be handled in due time.

Election of Officers

Motions were made, seconded and carried to elect John Croswell as the new president, Doug Johnson as vice-president, Dean Otto as Treasurer and Sally Peterson as secretary.

We will be seeking new board members to serve in the future.

A motion to adjourn was carried.

Respectfully submitted by Sally Peterson